Subaru Enthusiasts Car Club of the Sierras  

Go Back   Subaru Enthusiasts Car Club of the Sierras > Car Enthusiast Forums > General Subaru Discussion & Club Chat

General Subaru Discussion & Club Chat Talk about Subarus, plan meets, and other Sierra Nevada area Suby stuff!

Old 2012-04-13, 12:41 AM   #1
Arkansan
n00b

Car: 07 STI

Never Pull Out
Thumbs up I Wanted to introduce my self, and ask for some advice.

Hey guys,

My name is Justin and I drive an 07 STI. As my screen name suggests, I'm from Arkansas. I moved to incline Village last December to work, ride, and study teaching in the grad program at SNC. I'm not a car expert by any means, but I can install most parts with a good writup. I look forward to meeting some of you guys at the meets.

As for the advice I need. I will be moving to South Lake, CA for work next month and I will eventually need to get my car registered in CA. The issue is that I have a full Cobb turbo-back. As you guys know, the DP is catted, but CA is strict about their visual inspection and the new higher smog standards. I was wondering if you guys knew a "good" inspection shop to take it too. If that's not an option, I was wondering if any of you had access to a stock DP and perhaps would assist with me swapping it out for the inspection. It seemed like this was the best thread to post something like this.

Thanks,
Justin
Arkansan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2012-04-13, 01:02 AM   #2
sperry
The Doink

Car: '09 OBXT, '02 WRX, '96 Miata
Class: PDX/TT-6

The way out is through

Hi Justin, welcome to the boards!

You're pretty unlikely to find a "good" shop. I hear there are lots of stings and what not that keep CA shops legit.

Are the Cobb bits not CA legal? You should verify there are no EO numbers for the parts, since that would make your car leal as-is. Cobb's a pretty big seller, I'd hope they'd take the time to get their catted exhausts certified. Then again I'm in NV, so I really don't keep up with the CA rules.